Still Can’t Stop Goodyer On Speedweek 

For the third consecutive night Tasmanian Jock Goodyer proved he is the best Sprintcar driver in Australia right now as he upstaged some of the biggest names in the sport to capture yet another Clay-Per-View Sprintcar Speedweek A-Main. The third round at the borderline Speedway at Mount Gambier had a step up in competition from the previous two nights with World of Outlaws stars Carson Macedo and James McFadden joining the field along with a further two Americans, Justin Peck and Riley Goodno, but they couldn’t stop Goodyer’s domination. 

“This is my first win at this track (Borderline) so its good to finally tick that off my list. Its also pretty cool that it also included the memorial race for Dado vid Vears, so to win those races is always nice. The next round should be pretty tough, I have won there before but there a lot of guys who get around there well. All we can do is head over there and give it our best shot’’ added Jock as we spoke in the back of his hauler. 

Second place went the way of Brock Hallett, who made the most of transferring into the A-Dash after James McFadden was penalised for passing on the infield. Instead of starting the A-main from position seven Hallett started from position three and after Luke Dillon spun early in the race Hallett was gifted the second position, a spot he never relinquished. 

James McFadden made his return to Speedweek successful with a third placed run, while Chase Randall moved up six spots from his starting position to finish fourth. Lachlan McHugh, Grant Anderson, Jessie Attard (Hoosier Lucky 7), Brendan Quinn, Jy Corbet and Justin Peck completed the top 10. 

The only real casualty of the main event was Tasmanian Tate Frost, who was coming off a feature win, crashed in turn two bringing on the red lights. 

Earlier in the night Brock Hallett, Jock Goodyer, Luke Dillon and Grant Anderson were the quickest drivers in their groups for qualifying while Justin Peck, Jake Smith, Jordyn Charge and Carson Macedo were the heat winners. 

The B-mains were both claimed by American imports as Justin Peck and Aaron Reutzel greeted the chequered flags first. Fellow American Carson Macedo failed to transfer out of B-Main 2 following a pre-race incident on the front straight between himself and Chris Johns which required Macedo to start from the back of the field due to a second push start. 

The 2023/24 Clay-per-view Sprintcar Speedweek continues with night 4 at the Avalon Raceway in Geelong on December 30, before the grand final at the Premier Speedway, Warrnambool on January 1, 2024. 

Release by Sprintcar Speedweek Media 



Comments are closed