For nearly 20 years Speedweek has been a major part of the Australian Sprintcar calendar attracting the very best Australian and American drivers to South Australia and Victoria to race at some of the best tracks in Australia. In addition to the competitors, it has also provided race fans from all around the world the opportunity to witness up to five nights of top class Sprintcar racing in a week during the peak of the Christmas and New Year holidays. 

This year the traditional Speedweek line-up returns with five nights of competition over seven days with the Murray Machining and Sheds Murray Bridge Speedway hosting round 1 with a two-night event on December 26 & 27. The teams will then travel 3 and a half hours south-east to Mount Gambier to compete at the picturesque 372 metre Borderline Speedway on December 28. After a well-deserved day off the series will head into Victoria with the Avalon Raceway at Lara the next stop on December 30 prior to the Grand Final at the Premier Speedway in Warrnambool on January 1, 2024.  

Over the years the Speedweek series has varied in it’s make up as for many years it kicked off with the traditional Boxing Day opener at Adelaide’s Speedway City but due to its recent demise Murray Bridge has taken it’s mantle as Round 1. Warrnambool’s Premier Speedway has also varied its dates on occasion with the venue having hosted two rounds in several tournament’s but it has always been the location for the series final. 

Due to the Covid pandemic and border closures Speedweek, along with World Series, was forced to take a break in December 2020 with South Australia hosting their own series with the unofficial Speedweek tournament hosting events at Whyalla, Mount Gambier, Bordertown and Murray Bridge.  

Ever since its inception as part of the 2003/04 World Series Sprintcars Championship the list of Speedweek Champions is a who’s who of the sport with Max Dumesny claiming the title in its first two seasons. Joining Dumesny as a multiple Speedweek Champion are the likes of World of Outlaw regular James McFadden, the late Jason Johnson and Brooke Tatnell. 

Other winners include Robbie Farr, Jamie Veal, Steven Lines, Luke Dillon and current Champion Jock Goodyer. Dillon’s victory in 2014/15 is the most interesting as he claimed the overall victory without winning a single A-Main. 

With the Speedweek Series back better than ever in 2023/24 will one of the previous Champions chalk up another series win or will a new name be added to the distinguished list of drivers who can call themselves a Speedweek Champion! 



No responses yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *