During the early stages of the season Lachlan McHugh has been one of the inform drivers in Australia with multiple wins at Toowoomba, a win at the new Gladstone Speedway and even a victory at Warrnambool, in Pro Sprintcar competition. Even a change in team ownership, with Errol Cosgrove purchasing the team from Barry Waldron, could not disrupt the recent Queensland dominance with McHugh winning the A-Main at Toowoomba on Pink Night.  

But Speedweek, of course, is not conducted in Queensland but McHugh hasn’t been a one state wonder as over the years McHugh has been extremely fast at a majority of the Speedweek venues. The Borderline Speedway has been kind to him over the years as he has a Kings Challenge victory and a Speedweek A-Main win in 2022 and he is Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic Champion at Warrnambool. 

If there is one track that Lachlan has struggled at it is Murray Bridge, where he remains winless, although he has a number of runner-up finishes, including in the South Australian Championship to track specialist Matt Egel. During his last appearance at Murray Bridge, he finished fourth in the Australian Pro Sprintcar Championship while driving for local car owner Chris Evans. 

During the 2022 edition of Speedweek McHugh secured a fourth placed result at the Avalon Raceway. 

On current form McHugh would have to be favourite for the overall Speedweek Title but a lot of that will depend on how well be performs at his boggy track, Murray Bridge, as the opening two nights will set the tone for the rest of the week. 

The confirmed driver line-up for all 5 Nights of the 2023/24 Clay-Per-View Sprintcar Speedweek: Aaron Reutzel (USA87), Alex Attard (N53), Brendan Guerin (S96), Brendan Quinn (S14), Brock Hallett (Q5), Chad Ely (S98), Chase Randall (USA9), Daniel Pestka (S27), Glen Sutherland (S20), Jessie Attard (N55), Kobi Wright (N78), Lachlan Caunt (N9), Lachlan McHugh (NQ7), Luke Dillon (S81), Marcus Dumesny (N47), Matt Egel (S52), Randy Morgan (Q54), Ryan Jones (S63), Scott Enderl (S11), Tim Hutchins (T7). 

Stay up to date with all the latest news via our social media channels and the official Speedweek web page (www.speedweek.net.au). 

The 2023/24 Clay-per-view Sprintcar Speedweek Calendar: 

Nights 1 & 2 – December 26 & 27, 2023 – Murray Machining and Sheds Murray Bridge Speedway (SA) (39 Nominations) 

Night 3 – December 28, 2023 – Borderline Speedway, Mount Gambier (SA) (49 Nominations) 

Night 4 – December 30, 2023 – Avalon Raceway, Lara (Vic) (47 Nominations) 

Night 5 (Final) – January 1, 2024 – Premier Speedway, Warrnambool (Vic) (45 Nominations) 

Release by Sprintcar Speedweek Media 



Comments are closed