World of Outlaws star Carson Macedo put an end to Jock Goodyer’s winning run with victory in Night 4 of the Clay-Per-View Sprintcar Speedweek at the Avalon Raceway in Lara. As the high points driver Macedo started on the pole following the cancellation of the dash but it wasn’t until the unfortunate demise of early race leader Marcus Dumesny that Macedo took over the race lead. From that point he didn’t relinquish the lead finishing ahead of Brock Hallett, who now sits second overall in the points championship, and Texan Aaron Reutzel. 

“I must thank Sean and Felicity Dyson for this great opportunity to race in Australia. After what happened at Mount Gambier, I’m just glad we got a win on Speedweek. We will take few days off and get back at in the new year” added Carson following his win. 

Fourth across the line was points leader Jock Goodyer, who clawed his way into the top four after starting from position 9. Goodyer was on a charge late in the race executing a breathtaking outside pass on Jamie Veal before chasing down Reutzel, but the American was just able to hold him at bay. 

Jamie Veal, who was making his first appearance of the week, finished fifth ahead of Grant Anderson, and Lachlan McHugh, who picked up the Max Dumesny Motorsport / Hoosier Racing Tire Lucky 7 Award. Indiana’s Justin Peck, who started on the back row raced through to an impressive eighth placed result while Jessie Attard and Chase Randall completed the top 10. 

Marcus Dumesny, who has endured engine issues all week bounced back to form leading for the opening 18 laps until he got involved with the lapped car of Bobby Daly, with the Max Dumesny tribute #47 rolling down the front chute. 

James McFadden was another high-profile exit as he came to a halt on the back straight after contact with Aaron Reutzel on the exit of turn two. 

Earlier due to the increased car count the field was spit into five heat groups with McFadden, Dumesny, Hallett, Reutzel and Macedo topping their groups. The heat winners then included Speedcar ace Kaidon Brown, Macedo, Goodyer, Adam King and David Aldersley with the Dashes unfortunately cancelled due to the required track work. 

Chase Randall, Daniel Pestka and Peter Doukas transferred into the final via B-main 1 but unfortunately Pestka hurt his engine late in the race and he was unable to take his place in the finale. Brendan Quinn, Jack Lee and Justin Peck were the final transferees from B-Main 2. 

Top 10 in points leading into the final round at Warrnambool, January 1, 2024 – 1. Jock Goodyer 940 points, 2. Brock Hallett 780, 3. Lachlan McHugh 730, 4. Aaron Reutzel 720, 5. Chase Randall 615, 6. Jessie Attard 605, 7. Jordyn Charge 600, 8. Luke Dillon 535, 9. Daniel Pestka 506, 10. Matt Egel 505. 



Comments are closed